The Art of Giving Up.

I’m on a quest to finally finish a lot of the articles that have been rotting in the Drafts folder. Here goes my first attempt at this.

Maybe these posts were never meant to be, or maybe, they’ve just been waiting, to be.

“Try and try until you succeed” is probably one of the most widely used motivational quote. Every success story, every rags-to-riches story, every Edison-found-10000-ways-that-didn’t-work story urges one to keep going, keep trying till one succeeds. But, how long does one keep trying? How long is one to keep pushing? To keep going? What do you do when you’ve exhausted all your options and you still don’t succeed?

I remember how we had this section called “Reference to Context” in our Literature paper in school, wherein we had to answer questions with respect to a short story, poem or play. Just the concept of “Reference to Context” implied that not every story is the same, not all characters are facing the same circumstances. Every character needed a different end, moreover, a different mean to reach the end.

So, yes, all of our stories are different, so are our problems and personalities and perspectives. But, how come, the secret to this “success” remains the same? What if we’re just sometimes stuck with the wrong goal, or worse, a wrong definition of success? What if giving up on trying is our best shot?

Yes, it’s important to keep going. But, what if we’re going in the wrong direction?

So I tried it, the last time I was stuck somewhere, I took a step back, and asked myself, have I really left no stones unturned? Have I made sure not to cut any corners? Have I truly tried everything? And the answer was yes.

But, this whole “never give up” thing is so deep-rooted in my mind that I find it difficult to give up, to quit on something when it doesn’t work. I keep wanting to try once more, giving it my 100% each time, even though I’ve failed each time before. What if I’m just putting all this effort in the wrong direction? I find it difficult to follow my own advice.

I wish I hadn’t been instilled with the absolute version of this saying. I wish I had been taught to try and try but know when to stop when things just don’t go my way.

4 thoughts on “The Art of Giving Up.

  1. Your article made me remember a speech I saw, either on Ted or on YouTube, a little while ago, where the speaker talks about giving up often and giving up early. He was faced with many situations in which he decided it was good to give up. He changed his majors when he realized it didn’t work for him. And he said the secret of his success is that he realized when something was not the right fit for him and he wasn’t scared of giving up, as soon as he realized that, instead of holding on and trying harder.

    I tried looking for that video but I don’t remember the name of the speaker :/

    Like

    • That’s exactly what I’m trying to say. I wish we were told how it’s okay to give up on something when it doesn’t work for you. To not feel like we’re quitting, but to know that we tried everything, and it’s time to move to something new.

      I’d love to watch that speech! Do share it if you find it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Found it 🙂

        It’s a lovely speech. After around half an hour, it mainly focuses on the managerial aspects, but up till then he talks about how he has given up very often.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

