Typewriter Twenty Two : July ’16

A classic case of don’t judge a book by it’s cover.

I remember one of the thoughts that crossed my head when I saw the typewriter first (after *OMG THIS IS SO COOL*, *I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S FINALLY HERE*, and a rant about love at first sight) was:

Wow, that’s so compact!

It’s 10.1″ x 11.5″ to be precise, (yes, I measured it for this post). Which is very compact and optimal for porting. Well, if you’d like to visualize it, 10.5 would be approximately the height of a 1 litre Aquafina bottle and 11.5″ is slightly smaller that the longer side of a A4 sheet, (or did I just confuse you?)

Fair enough, right? Seems like something that’s easy to carry. So, I rushed over to pick it up and analyze it, and as I did, I realized, hang on, the size isn’t all that matters.

The weight. Damn.

The typewriter weighs a lot more than you think something as compact and petite would, it’s like you couldn’t have known, unless you actually tried holding it up. Now I’m not really sure how they would be practical to carry around. They look compact, are “wireless”, seem low maintenance and come in a carrying case; they were meant to be portable, right?

But, are they?

Stay tuned in to find out, more next month!


Check out the previous edition of Typewriter Twenty Two here and the next one, here.


2 thoughts on “Typewriter Twenty Two : July ’16

Leave a Reply

